I have been struggling with depression for a few years now, and I am well acquainted with bad days. Learning how to successfully cope with depressive episodes has been a lot of trial and error, but I have made a lot of progress.

Dealing with depression is a very personal thing, and there is no one universally correct solution. If you happen to be looking for any methods, I might be able to help you.

 

Here are a few ways I cope with bad days.

 

  • Writing a Journal

I have found that writing a journal is extremely effective. I have one journal completely dedicated to positive thoughts and self-discovery. Writing in this journal has helped to change my perspective of myself. When you suffer with depression, you end up getting a negatively warped view of who you are as a person, and you can deem yourself as unworthy. The beauty of writing positive thoughts is that you can go back and read it, and realize that you are not nearly as flawed as your mental illness has led you to believe.

 

  • Baking
I baked and decorated this cake for Halloween of 2017, and I am quite proud of it.

Within the past year, I have discovered how much I love baking and cake decorating. I get so much joy out of sharing baked goods that brighten others’ days. I find something about experimenting with new methods and recipes to be extremely therapeutic. I began decorating cakes fairly recently, and nothing makes me feel better on a bad day than creating something.

 

  • Learn Something New

Going through a depressive episode can cause you to feel stuck in an endless, meaningless routine. It’s not always easy to muster up any kind of motivation during bad days, but if you can, learning something is a great way to break a bleak cycle, and introduce you to a brand new world. I wanted a change of pace one day, so I decided to start learning German. I am so glad I decided to broaden my horizons, as it has given me something new to look forward to.

There are tons of apps you can use to learn something new that you are interested in. If you happen to be looking into learning a new language, I highly recommend downloading Duolingo. It is an app that provides its’ users with free lessons, and I love everything it stands for.

 

  • Entertainment

Sometimes, I think entertainment is the only thing that keeps me sane. During hard times, nothing is as relaxing as sitting back and watching a good movie or TV show. My favorite genres are comedy and fantasy. It’s nice to escape your world for a little while, and go to a magical land, or having a well deserved laugh.

Here are a few of my favorites in no particular order:

  1. Beauty and the Beast (Live Action)
  2. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  3. Tangled
  4. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
  5. Harry Potter Franchise
  6. Bob’s Burgers
  7. South Park
  8. Criminal Minds (Okay, this one’s a bit dark, but I am fascinated by criminal psychology.)

I am aware that most of these are considered children’s movies, and that is because I think it is so freeing to temporarily forget about adult responsibilities, and remember what it is like to have a child’s optimism. I could probably write entire blog posts about why I love each one of the movies or TV shows above, but I’ll spare you for now.

 

  • Read a Book

There is something so magical about books. I love being transported to a world that you have an element of creative control over. You can stick to comfortable books that you know you love, or you can pick up a brand new book and throw yourself into a new adventure. Whatever you choose, you are guaranteed to have a temporary escape from everyday life.

My favorite book to read when I am feeling a bit down is one of the books from the Harry Potter franchise. They provide me with comfort, nostalgia, and an enchanting place to get lost in.

 

  • Call Someone You Love

I know from firsthand experience that depression can make you feel worthless to everyone else. I promise you this is a lie. Calling someone you love will brighten both of your days, and it can take your mind off of whatever is troubling you. I personally love talking to my brother when I’m sad. He makes me laugh no matter what.

 

  • Spend Quality Time With a Pet

Whenever I’m feeling down, spending time with my dog just makes everything better. Whether we are playing a game of fetch or curling up on the couch, he brightens my life.

 


 

If you are having a hard time right now, I hope this post was able to help you in one way or another.

If your depression is severe and you need help, go here. Even if you are unable to see it now, I promise your life is so precious. I’m rooting for you and your recovery.

 


Thank you for reading. Let me know in the comments what you like to do to make a bad day a little better.

2 thoughts on “Coping With Bad Days

Leave a comment